Sometimes you don’t know exactly what you are looking for…….

Sometimes you find something you didn’t even know you were looking for it until you stumble over it. Yesterday I hade one of these moments. The last couple of days I have been thinking about the Journals Impact factor (JIF) and its usefulness in the process of evaluating the quality (“impact or news generating ability”) of a researcher. My question always was: “Why use the average number of citations of unrelated article to evaluate the impact of my research?” And as a follow up: “Why not use the number of citations of my papers directly?” It always felt wrong and a bit naive to use the JIF for everything. Yesterday, following a discussion on ResearchGate a link to a paper was posted. This paper supported gut feeling with actual data, something that feels amazing as a scientist.

I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did.

http://arxiv.org/ftp/arxiv/papers/1205/1205.4328.pdf

Leave a Reply

